How to Manage “Files Shared With Me” on Google Drive

Rate this post
How to Manage “Files Shared With Me” on Google Drive

If you work in a big or busy team, chances are you exchange Google Drive files with your colleagues. This might be dozens of files every day, depending on the size of your team.

You might wind up having hundreds or thousands of files in your Google Drive after a period. This post will teach you how to manage your shared Google Drive files to avoid clutter.

Managing Your “Shared With Me” Google Drive Files

Those and folders shared with you, as well as files shared with a link that you have previously accessed, are visible in Google Drive’s “Shared with me” area.

Furthermore, you may locate information on files shared with you in your “Shared with me” collection: The file or folder name, the file type (e.g., Docs or Sheets), the person who shared it with you, and the date it was shared with you are among the information.

We’ve already discussed how to utilize shared files on Google Drive. Let’s have a look at the many methods for managing shared files in Google Drive.

1. Switch From Grid Layout to List Layout

Google Drive lets you browse your files in either a grid or a list format. It is set to grid layout by default. Grid style, on the other hand, presents your files as huge square cards.

Although grid layout provides a rapid glimpse, it may soon take up a lot of screen area. As a result, you may only see a few files at a time. This may need some further scrolling to access files farther down.

List layout, on the other hand, lists your files and folders chronologically, giving you a bird’s-eye perspective but with less information. If you have a vast collection of files to go through, this might be useful.

How to Change Drive Layout

To change the layout:

  1. If you haven’t already, sign in to Google Drive.
  2. On the left pane, choose Shared with me.
  3. Click on Layout (the table-like symbol) on your far right, immediately under the settings gear icon.
  6 Tools to Sync Microsoft Outlook With Google Calendar

This will change your grid layout to a list layout. You may always alter this by clicking on the layout box again. Remember that the layout you choose might influence the appearance and accessibility of a file or folder under “Shared with me.”

2. Organize Files by Adding Shortcuts to Drive

Another method for managing shared files is to create shortcuts to them or arrange them into folders. By putting related files in the same folder, you make it simpler to find certain sorts of files that others have shared with you.

You may add files to the “My Drive,” “Computers,” “Starred,” or just create a new folder. You may also color mark your Google Drive folders to make them simpler to find.

How to Add Files to Shortcut in Drive

Here’s how to move “Shared with me” files into folders.

  1. Navigate to your Google Drive profile.
  2. Click on Shared with me.
  3. Right-click on the file you want to transfer to a folder and choose Move to Folder.
  4. Click on Add shortcut to Drive.
  5. Click on the forward arrow to the right of My Drive.
  6. In the bottom-left corner, click the New Folder button.
  7. You’re done when you name the folder and click the blue tick.

You may now begin transferring your shared files to this location. Simply click on My Drive, Computers, or Starred to view your relocated files. If you made a new folder, it may be found under “My Drive.”

3. Delete Files or Folders You No Longer Use

While this may seem obvious, you should consider carefully before removing a file or folder that has been shared with you. This is due to the fact that files shared with you do not belong to you.

  4 Fun Things to Do with Google Translate

If, on the other hand, a file or folder has outlived its usefulness, you may remove it. It’s one method for cleaning out Google Drive in general. When you remove a shared file, it does not disappear from the owner’s Google Drive.

However, if you need to re-share the deleted shared file for whatever reason, you must ask the owner to do so. Otherwise, only do this if you are certain you will not need the file again.

How to Remove Files “Shared With Me” on Google Drive

To delete a shared file or folder:

  1. Navigate to your Google Drive profile.
  2. Navigate to the files area by clicking on Shared with me.
  3. Right-click on the file or folder you wish to remove and choose Delete.
  4. Remove may be found by scrolling down the menu selections.

If you reopen a shared file after removing it, it will return under “Shared with me.” It may also appear when you search for files in Drive.

4. Back Up Your Shared With Me Files

Although Google Drive provides free cloud storage, there is a 15GB restriction, and “Shared with me” information counts against this limit. As a result, if you believe that your “Shared with me” files are over this limit, remove them.

But, before you delete them, download and back them up to an external storage device in case you need them later. Better yet, purchase Google storage.

Google offers paid cloud storage options ranging from 100GB for basic to 2TB for premium. They also provide additional features such as access to Google experts, the capacity to share with up to five others, and additional member benefits.

How to Back Up “Shared With Me” Files

To download “Shared with me” files:

  1. Navigate to the Shared with me area.
  2. Right-click on the file you wish to download and choose Save Target As.
  3. Scroll down the menu and choose Download.
  How Do I Delete Previous Google Searches From History?

If your account is running short on storage, you may need to buy some extra. Here’s how you can get Google storage:

  1. Navigate to your Google Drive profile.
  2. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the left window.
  3. Click on Buy storage.

You’ll be taken to the payment page, where you may make your choices and pay.

How to Remove Yourself From Shared Files on Google Drive

If you are accidentally added to a document or folder without your knowledge, you may quickly delete yourself from the shared files. Here’s how it’s done:

  1. Start the Drive app on your phone.
  2. Tap on the Shared button.
  3. Tap the three dots (More actions) button next to the file or folder from which you wish to unsubscribe.
  4. Tap on Manage access.
  5. Tap Remove after selecting your account name.

This will remove you from the shared document.

Tidy Up Your “Shared With Me” Files Section

Shared files may easily accumulate and clog your Google Drive. You may solve this by following the procedures indicated in this article to clean up and organize your belongings. A neat “Shared with me” area is more aesthetically attractive, makes document access and retrieval quicker and faster, saves time, and boosts productivity. Furthermore, almost all of these techniques are free. You may also experiment with various cloud-based solutions such as Dropbox, OneDrive, Flickr, Amazon S3, NAS, and WebDav.

You are looking for information, articles, knowledge about the topic How to Manage “Files Shared With Me” on Google Drive on internet, you do not find the information you need! Here are the best content compiled and compiled by the achindutemple.org team, along with other related topics such as: Google.

Similar Posts